Guide to Doing Business
in Bonaire

Intellectual property

On 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles as a country ceased to exist and the BES islands (Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba) became part of the country of the Netherlands as a special municipality (officially referred to as the Caribbean Netherlands). As of this date, new legislation came into force that to a large extent (re)confirmed the intellectual property law provisions applicable under the former Antillean system.

Please see our Trademark Guide Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba (BES Islands) for more information on the registration and enforcement of trademark rights.